Hit’n’Miss High-end Mascara: Lancôme and Dior

This post is about recent mascara launches of Lancôme and Dior. I was quite excited about both of them, but only one turned out to be a hit and another one a total miss. Intrigued, which is which? Keep reading! 😉

To start with, I have normal, absolutely basic eyelashes. In mascara I seek dramatic volume and length.

high end mascara dior it lashes

Dior Addict It-Lash Mascara in 092 It-Black

(retails for 29,90€, I bought it in Duty free for 27€), exists in 4 shades

Claims to: volume, length and vibrant long-wearing color

In reality: no volume or length – my lashes looked pretty natural as they are without mascara, just colored; eye lashes weren’t even defined

Brush: exactly the same as Benefit They’re real! – chubby and long, a bit flexible, rubber brush, covered by turns with long and short bristles/spikes ; has rounded tip, also covered with spikes

Packaging: in line with Dior Addict range – signature Dior chic, which I really like, so gorgeous!; sleek squared black and silver tube;

Amount of product: 9 ml

Texture: gel

Staying power: unfortunately, didn’t last long and tended to fall and smudge a bit

Verdict: TOTAL MISS! I wanted to try the Benefit They’re real! Mascara for a while, and when I saw this new Dior launch with exactly the same brush, I just couldn’t resist. Initially I wanted to buy good old Diorshow Iconic Overcurl (which was used on me at my wedding, and I absolutely loved it) – how I wish I did! But my beauty blogger crave for trying new things prevailed. I had such high hopes for this mascara, but it just didn’t work for me. Sad thing to say, but it’s one of the worst mascaras I’ve ever tried.

high end mascara lancome grandiose

Lancôme Grandiôse Mascara in 01 Noir Mirifique (black)

(retails for 32€, but I bought it for 28€ with a discount), exist in 1 shade

Claims to: volume, length and lift

In reality: it does it all and even more! Also holds the curl perfectly

Brush: « a first-of-its-kind » swan neck wand is no gimmick – it really is ingenious: the wand is very practical and it gives a lot of control. The brush is rubber and pretty small, it has slightly conic shape, covered with bristles/spikes of different length, making sort of curvy rows

Packaging: The packaging is a masterpiece: so elegant and sophisticated. For me it associates with some kind of love potion bottle: the main part is round and bottle-like, and the lid is a bit twisted starting with triangular shape on top, going down to round, with a beautiful black Lancôme rose Inside – ah!

Amount of product: 10 ml – more than in Dior’s mascara

Texture: more on a liquid side

Staying power: stays put even better than some waterproof mascaras, but washes off easily – I was so impressed! No budging, smudging whatsoever.

Verdict: TOTAL HIT! I just couldn’t pass by this mascara – swan neck wand!? I’m instantly hooked on everything unusual. If the Dior mascara is the worst, this one might be the best mascara I’ve ever tried. It gives the most insane volume and perfect length; applies evenly without clumps, and it’s pretty buildable. The wand makes the application so easy, and the size of the brush is just perfect – as I’ve said, it all gives a lot of control, which is so important when it comes to mascara. All in all, if you want to splurge on high-end mascara, this is definitely the one.

high end mascara lancome  dior wand

Hope you found it useful!

Thanks for reading,

Maria Paris

4 thoughts on “Hit’n’Miss High-end Mascara: Lancôme and Dior

Leave a comment