NAKED Series: Complexion

This week we’ll be sharing our thoughts on Urban Decay Naked line. I’ll be talking about complexion: Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup foundation and Naked Flushed palette.

Urban Decay is, probably, my favorite brand, and their Naked line is just sensational. The Naked tag has become sort of must have for me because this line pretty much represents flawless, beautifying, natural makeup – who wouldn’t like that?

Anyway, back to the business: quite a while ago I was looking for a new foundation (at that time I used Clinique Even Better foundation, which I still really like, but I wanted to try something new and maybe even better), and Naked tag decided it for me. Besides, the reviews were all super positive.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So a lil’ bit of FAQ: Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup (30ml for around 35€) comes in 18 shades, which is already a plus.

naked skin swatchThe shades ending with « .0 » have yellow or warm undertones, those ending with « .5 » have pink or cold undertones. That makes it so easy to find the right shade, which I’m normally struggling with. My shade is 3.5 and I have pretty fair skin.

It’s oil-free, paraben-free and fragrance-free.

Another thing that pleased me was ingredients because the idea of foundation combined with skincare properties is particularly appealing to me. Here you can read the main ingredients and their properties taken from Urban Decay official website:

Matrixyl 3000-Anti-wrinkle and lifting peptides restore and maintain skin’s youthful appearance while increasing elasticity.

Litchiderm (derived from lychee fruit) – Protects the skin from dehydration, oxidative stress and accelerated aging, resulting in a brighter, more radiant complexion.

Green Tea & Vitamin E – These anti-oxidants neutralize free-radicals and promote collagen production for smooth and supple skin.

Sodium Hyaluronate – Holds and attracts water for optimal hydration, circulation and nutrient absorption, making skin smooth, soft and youthful.

Nakes Skin CollageAs for texture, it’s liquid but not runny; it’s easy to work with and build up the coverage you need. I find the best way to apply it with a dense round brush – I’m using the Real Techniques Buffing Brush.

Even though it’s medium to full coverage to me (which I prefer in foundations), it doesn’t feel or look like you wear a foundation. Considering the fact that it has demi-matte finish, it’s quite amazing.

All in all, it unifies the skin tone perfectly and covers any imperfections. Light-diffusing peptides give that radiant and healthy look. It’s a truly remarkable foundation, and I think it undeservedly left behind in beauty bloggers community.

Naked flushed

About a year ago I was looking for a good bronzer and Urban Decay Naked Flushed palette (14g for around 25€) caught my attention.

It consists of bronzer, highlighter and blush and claims to suit any skin tone. Also, it says that you can actually mix them all together to get that super glowy kind of blush, but I’ve never dared 🙂 Though, I think it’d look pretty much like it looks on my finished makeup because in the end I mixed everything together.

As a sidenote, I also used my Naked 3 eyeshadow palette here.

Naked finished look

The packaging is sleek and I really like the idea of having three products in one – makes it travel and storage friendly 😀

The bronzer is warm-toned, a bit orangey to me, with beautiful satin finish. Back at the day I thought it was perfect for me, but now I see that it’s a bit too warm for my skin tone. Regardless, it blends so easily that I’m still enjoying this bronzer while applying just a tiny bit to give warmth, definition and certain glow to my complexion.

The highlighter is a gorgeous rosy champagne color with satin finish, which is the best thing about it – it looks really beautiful and natural. I find shimmery highlighters are so hard to work with, so this one is just perfect.

The blush is a cold-toned dusty rose with a tiny bit of shimmer, which is invisible on the skin. Such a beautiful and flattering color – one of my favorite blushes.

Overall, all of them – bronzer, highlighter and blush – have very powdery texture, but are so finely milled and easy to blend. They are very pigmented as well. But as you can see from my finished makeup, it looks very subtle and just gives the necessary amount of glow and definition.

Even though, these products are no new, hope you found it useful!

Maria Paris

3 thoughts on “NAKED Series: Complexion

Leave a comment